October 14, 2011
I’ve received several questions lately regarding soy in our products so I’d like to touch on a few of your concerns. All flavors of our crackers and our Sea Salt Sticks & Twigs contain fermented soy in the form of organic, gluten-free tamari. A small amount of organic alcohol or organic vinegar is added to the tamari to facilitate its fermentation. According to what I’ve read, soy allergies in most people are triggered by the protein in soy. Fermented soy is generally tolerable for individuals with soy allergies because the fermentation process alters the proteins in soy making it easier to break down in the human body. It is thought that unfermented soy is more difficult for the human body to break down due to whole, unfermented soy being rich in enzyme inhibitors. Soy is also found in the chocolate chips we use in our Chocolate Chip and Double Chocolate love Cookies, in the form of soy lecithin. Similarly, this form of soy is also easier to digest and not usually a soy allergy trigger since it is an extract from soy oil and does not contain any soy protein.
I’ve heard from many of our customers with soy allergies or intolerance that our products are easily digestible for them.
Our Sticks & Twigs in Curry and Chipotle Tomato and our love Cookies in “N’Oatmeal” Raisin (without oats!) and Ginger Snaps do not contain soy. The Frequently Asked Questions section of our website also has some great information on soy.
Valerie Douglass, DTR
Mary’s Gone Crackers, Inc.