Frequently Asked Questions

Answers to your most pressing questions about Mary’s Gone Crackers’ products.

Super Seed Crackers and Goat Cheese

 

At Mary’s Gone Crackers we have our own dedicated gluten free facility. To avoid any possibility of cross-contamination, we do not bring ingredients containing gluten into our factory.

We also occasionally test our ingredients and our finished products to be sure that they are not contaminated. The test we use detects gluten at 10 parts per million (ppm). Our products and ingredients have always come up as 'less than 10 ppm,' which means no detectable gluten.

Consumers need to be aware that some companies will say that their products are gluten free even if they have come into contact with products containing gluten. They can say this because there is no universal standard yet defining gluten free.

 

The highest source of arsenic in rice comes from the rice grown in the Southeastern part of the U.S., where cotton had previously been grown. The soil there is full of arsenic from the chemical pesticides put on the cotton crops and rice is the kind of plant that more readily absorbs arsenic if it’s in the soil. California, which is where we get all of our rice, has the lowest levels of arsenic in the soil. Arsenic levels found in people’s blood are highest in Asian countries, where rice is a staple in their diet.

Please CLICK HERE to read Mary’s complete message about arsenic.

To read the Organic Trade Association’s White Paper Executive Summary on Arsenic, CLICK HERE.

For another important view about the difference between ORGANIC and INORGANIC arsenic, CLICK HERE.


 

At Mary’s Gone Crackers we have our own dedicated nut free facility. None of our products contain nuts and our crackers and pretzels (Pretzel Sticks) have no chance of cross contamination because they are made in our nut free facility. Originally, our cookies were made in another facility where nuts (and other ingredients we don’t use) were used in other products, which is why we printed an allergy caution statement on our cookie boxes. Since April 2010, we have brought the cookie production into our own facility where there is no chance for nut or dairy or egg contamination. We will change our boxes at the next printing.


 

Our two new cracker flavors--Super Seed and Hot 'n Spicy Jalapeño--are free of soy, as are two of the Pretzel flavors--Chipotle Tomato and Curry. In the Sea Salt Pretzels and the other crackers we use a small amount (less than 1%) of organic, certified gluten-free tamari from Wanjashan International. The traditional manufacturing process takes 6 months to transform the difficult to digest soybeans into a very digestible, fermented tamari.


 

We add no sweeteners to our crackers or our pretzels. Our love Cookies contain organic coconut palm sugar and organic tapioca syrup, both low glycemic sweeteners. The Ginger Snap Cookies also have some molasses. In addition, the chocolate chips in the Chocolate Chip Cookies and Double Chocolate Cookies have a small amount of cane sugar.


 

The alcohol in the tamari we use in our pretzels and crackers is sometimes made from corn (other times it’s made from sugar cane). The distillation process removes the corn protein from the alcohol, and 99% of people with corn allergies are allergic to the protein, so it shouldn’t be an issue for most people.

 

Mary’s Gone Crackers, Inc. currently does not provide a Glycemic Index for any of its products. GI tests are very hard to obtain and are not able to take things such as metabolism, physical activity, and other medical conditions into consideration.

At Mary’s Gone Crackers, Inc. our products are so unique and use such special blends of ingredients that even if we wanted to have GI testing done; there are no comparable products in which to test ours against. Even the ADA; the American Diabetes Association, places disclaimers of their GI indexes of food such as whole fruits, vegetables, and grains as how they affect individuals is just that; individually.

Here are two helpful links explaining the GI, how it works in relation to food, and how it is tested:

http://www.diabetes.org/food-and-fitness/food/planning-meals/glycemic-index-and-diabetes.html#What_is_the_glycemic_index

http://www.glycemicindex.com/testing_research.php


 

The alcohol is an ingredient in some of the tamari that we use (it’s listed inside the parentheses of the tamari ingredients.) More recently, the tamari that we are using contains vinegar, but we list both in case we need to use the other tamari. The alcohol is organic cane alcohol and is used to facilitate fermentation. By the time the crackers have been baked, the alcohol evaporates, but the flavor remains.


 

No, our crackers are baked.


 

You can purchase all of our cookies, crackers, crumbs and pretzels here on our website! Click here.

Our store locator, found at the top left corner of the page, will allow you to search for stores near your city or zip code. Click here.


 

Reward points are our way of thanking our regular customers for shopping with us. One reward point (worth 10 cents) is accrued for every dollar spent. You will receive an immediate 50 reward points (worth $5) when you register with us by creating an account! You can use your reward points at any time, or save them for later. You will see the option to use your points on the shopping cart page prior to checkout.

To qualify for reward points and quantity discounts, simply create an account HERE


 

We offer quantity discounts to all of our registered customers.
Our quantity discounts are mix and match, too! Even a Mary's Gear™ t-shirt counts towards getting your discount!

• Buy 6 to 11 of any mix of products and save 8%

• Buy 12 or more save 15%

You will see your discount during check-out. To become a registered customer CLICK HERE to create an account with your name, email address and a password of your choosing. Once you've created an account, you'll be able to track your orders and reward points, add multiple shipping addresses, and save time with a faster check out process.


 

We do not ship internationally because it is very expensive; however we have distribution in a few other countries.



 

On our cracker and cookie boxes, the expiration date and batch number are embossed onto the top flap of the box. On our pretzel bag, the expiration date and batch number are stamped in ink on the bottom right side of the bag.


 

We are using a different kind of tamari in the crackers and the Sea Salt Pretzels. The previous supplier (which we might on occasion still use) used alcohol to ferment the soybeans. This new supplier uses vinegar, in a very small amount, to facilitate fermentation.


 

We currently make the crackers in 7 flavors: Original, Hot 'n Spicy Jalapeño, Super Seed, Caraway, Herb, Black Pepper, and Onion. There are 3 flavors of pretzels: Sea Salt, Chipotle Tomato, and Curry. And we also have love Cookies! They currently are available in Ginger Snap, “N'Oatmeal” Raisin, Chocolate Chip and Double Chocolate. There are plans for more products in the future.


 

Our 5020 co-ex film does not contain any BPA.