Answers your most pressing questions about Mary’s Gone Crackers’ products.
At Mary’s Gone Crackers we have our own dedicated gluten free facility. To avoid any possibility of cross-contamination, we do not bring ingredients containing gluten into our factory.
We also occasionally test our ingredients and our finished products to be sure that they are not contaminated. The test we use detects gluten at 10 parts per million (ppm). Our products and ingredients have always come up as 'less than 10 ppm,' which means no detectable gluten.
Consumers need to be aware that some companies will say that their products are gluten free even if they have come into contact with products containing gluten. They can say this because there is no universal standard yet defining gluten free.
The highest source of arsenic in rice comes from the rice grown in the Southeastern part of the U.S., where cotton had previously been grown. The soil there is full of arsenic from the chemical pesticides put on the cotton crops and rice is the kind of plant that more readily absorbs arsenic if it’s in the soil. California, which is where we get all of our rice, has the lowest levels of arsenic in the soil. Arsenic levels found in people’s blood are highest in Asian countries, where rice is a staple in their diet.
Please CLICK HERE to read Mary’s complete message about arsenic.
To read the Organic Trade Association’s White Paper Executive Summary on Arsenic, CLICK HERE.
For another important view about the difference between ORGANIC and INORGANIC arsenic, CLICK HERE.
At Mary’s Gone Crackers we have our own dedicated nut free facility. None of our products contain nuts and our crackers and pretzels (Pretzel Sticks) have no chance of cross contamination because they are made in our nut free facility. Originally, our cookies were made in another facility where nuts (and other ingredients we don’t use) were used in other products, which is why we printed an allergy caution statement on our cookie boxes. Since April 2010, we have brought the cookie production into our own facility where there is no chance for nut or dairy or egg contamination. We will change our boxes at the next printing.
Our crackers and our Sea Salt Pretzel Sticks use soy in the form of fermented organic gluten free tamari.
Our Chipotle Tomato and Curry Pretzel Sticks do not have added soy, but they are made in our facility, which uses soy.
People who have soy allergies or intolerances (including our founder Mary Waldner) are generally allergic to the protein in soy. When fermentation takes place, the structure of the soy protein is altered, making it safe for 99% of people with soy allergies to eat.
The fermentation process adds other properties that make the soy more beneficial as well.
In many traditional cultures in Asia, people have been eating soy products for a long time, and have generally taken the time to ferment the soy before eating it. Only recently have people, generally in the West, begun to eat whole unadulterated soy, in the form of soy flour, soy milk, soy beans etc. The chocolate chips that we use in our cookies contain soy lecithin. Most people will not have an allergic reaction to this ingredient because soy lecithin is an extract from soy oil and does not contain any soy protein.
Below are links to two informative articles on this topic:
We add no sweeteners to our crackers or our Pretzel Sticks. Our love Cookies contain organic coconut palm sugar and organic tapioca syrup, both low glycemic sweeteners. The Ginger Snap Cookies also have some molasses. In addition, the chocolate chips in the Chocolate Chip Cookies and Double Chocolate Cookies have a small amount of cane sugar.
The alcohol in the tamari we use in our Pretzel Sticks and crackers is sometimes made from corn (other times it’s made from sugar cane). The distillation process removes the corn protein from the alcohol, and 99% of people with corn allergies are allergic to the protein, so it shouldn’t be an issue for most people.
The alcohol is an ingredient in the tamari that we use. It’s listed inside the parentheses of the tamari ingredients. Since the tamari is wheat free, they use a small amount of organic alcohol to facilitate fermentation. By the time the crackers have been baked, the alcohol evaporates, but the flavor remains.
No, our crackers are baked.
You can purchase all of our cookies, crackers, crumbs and pretzel sticks here on our website! Click here.
See the top left-hand corner of this website for our store locator.
We do not ship internationally because it is very expensive; however we have distribution in a few other countries.
On our cracker and cookie boxes, the expiration date and batch number are embossed onto the top flap of the box. On our Pretzel Sticks bag, the expiration date and batch number are stamped in ink on the bottom right side of the bag.
We are using a different kind of tamari in the crackers and the Sea Salt pretzels. The previous supplier (which we might on occasion still use) used alcohol to ferment the soybeans. This new supplier uses vinegar, in a very small amount, to facilitate fermentation.
We currently make the crackers in 5 flavors: Original, Caraway, Herb, Black Pepper, and Onion. There are 3 flavors of Pretzel Sticks: Sea Salt, Chipotle Tomato, and Curry. And now we have love Cookies! They currently are available in Ginger Snap, “N'Oatmeal” Raisin, Chocolate Chip and Double Chocolate. There are plans for more products in the future.
Our 5020 co-ex film does not contain any BPA.